About Us Political System

Official name

Republic of India

Structure of the state

Union of 28 states and 8 Union territories with the Central Government based in New Delhi.

Political system

Multi-party parliamentary democracy, based on universal adult franchise.


Bicameral legislature, with the Upper House known as the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lower House known as the Lok Sabha (Council of the People)

Last Parliamentary Elections

April-May 2019

Current Government

Bharatiya Janata Party

Head of State

President – Shri Ram Nath Kovind

Head of Government

Prime Minister –Shri Narendra Modi